If you own a defective vehicle, you may be entitled to have it repaired or replaced by the manufacturer. In some cases, you may be entitled to the cash value of the vehicle in addition to any money spent trying to replace it. Let’s look at how a vehicle may obtain the lemon label.
The Vehicle Is in the Shop for 30 Days or More
Under Missouri lemon law, a vehicle may be declared defective if the same issue causes it to be in the shop for 30 days or more. It may also be possible to declare a car a lemon if multiple issues cause it to be in a service center for 30 days or more.
Multiple Attempts Have Been Made to Fix the Vehicle
Missouri lemon law states that a reasonable number of attempts must be made to fix a car or truck problem. Generally speaking, you must allow for two to four attempts for a problem that would not lead to serious injury or death. If a defect could result in injury or death, only one attempt to fix the problem may be required before it is deemed to be defective.
You Tell the Manufacturer About the Problem
You must generally tell the manufacturer about the issue before filing a complaint. From there, a representative from the company that made the vehicle will investigate the problem and try to resolve it to your satisfaction. In some cases, this may be done with the help of a mediator or by going through arbitration. It may be in your best interest to have an attorney present while working with a mediator or during an arbitration hearing.
If you’re having problems with your vehicle, visit YourLemonLawRights.com to learn more about how Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center can be of assistance.